I’ve been reading a bunch of really interesting blogs and stories about fat acceptance- It stared from reading a post on Free Range Kids, but I got off track, and well, you know how the internet is.

Anyway, I stumbled across This three part article… and was horrified, though not really all that surprised. I’ve been big and small and everywhere in between, and have encountered enough fat phobia to know that this is not only within the realm of possibility, but probably a very regular occurrence. As a matter of fact, it turns out that so many people had similar stories, that they had to set up a whole seperate site for people who had been going through BS like this. Wow.

Also, in my e-travels, I discovered what I consider to be kind of the prime example of why the BMI scale doesn’t work. Besides the fact that it was designed by a mathemetician in the 1800s who explicitly stated that it was not a measure of health, it was merely a statistical tool, and that it does not take into account muscle mass or physical fitness, it’s just downright silly to assume that because someone carries around more or less body fat that you can gauge the state of their health. It kind of blows my mind that we are so narrow minded about this as a society.

When I was losing weight, I was doing it for comfort and vanity, not for my health- I excersized for my health. When I started walking more and eating “better” foods, I did THAT for my health, but the weight loss really was for my own self image, even though I know it’s stupid that my self worth should in any way correlate with my relative fatness. But it does, and that’s probably not going to change. I recognize that it’s culturally induced but I’m more confident when I’m “thinner”, as stupid as it may be. 

Anyway, I thought I’d share these awesome links for those of you that have any interest in body image and culture and stuff. I was totally transfixed, and I think it really is a case of “a picture is worth a thousand words” so I’m just going to let them do the talking.  

A Photographic Record of Why the BMI scale is BONKERS

