It’s getting more apparent with each passing afternoon. Not only is the world greener and warmer, but it’s smelling like spring. Also, the cats are ecstatic. I propose that they hold the belief that the big things control the weather. We control the food bowl, the water bowls, the catnip, the doors, the petting hands, and the windows, so why not the sun and rain as well? Anyway, they seem especially grateful, and even hermit-cat Quan-Yin has been going outside to frolic.

Every morning, as I groggily stumble out of my house towards the bus stop, I pause to examine the progress of my pots. Mostly, they’re still dirt. I’m never displeased by the sight of plain, undisturbed soil, because I know that magical things are happening underground- but  more and more little green flecks of life have been appearing every week- and today I noticed that some herb (chives? cilantro? mint? I dunno…) had appeared, and so have tiny little carrot and chard (red stems already!) starts. Just to see that they have germinated makes me giddy.  

This weekend I’ll have three days off, and I plan on wrestling with the climbing vine that is devouring the porch- I call it Audrey III. You really have to see it to believe it, but it’s about as close to a man eating plant as is possible.

 I’m also going to be aquiring some more pots from a co-worker, and I’ll be filling those with soil and anxiously biting my nails till it’s time to plant them with cauliflower starts, lettuce, turnips, etc etc. April is a really great month for planting here in Stumptown. It’s warm but not hot- and aside from heat loving plants like eggplants, tomatoes,  peppers, squash, and corn, you can pretty much plant everything in April.

The ultrasound is on Friday. I’m both very nervous and very excited to see what’s growing inside my uterus. What will we discover about it? It’s a little overwhelming to think about.

I just discovered a delightful looking obscure fruit called “Honeyberry” or “Edible Honeysuckle” that looks DAMN good.

The thing is though, they REALLY look like little purple uncircumsized peni… it’s hugely comical. There are some really compelling reasons besides the novelty of that to grow them- so I’m going to see if Portland Nursery carries them. Seriously though.

Little purple peni.

the phallic fruit of the honeyberry, aka sweetberry honeysuckle, aka edible honeysuckle, aka haskap, aka Lonicera caerulea

Here’s a little information I found about them:

Coming from Siberia, it is extremely hardy. It can withstand winter temperatures of -47° Celsius. Not only that, but its open flowers can endure -7° Celsius. They are the earliest to fruit in the season, usually in mid to late June – even earlier than strawberries.

One of the greatest thing about Haskap is that it doesn’t take seven years to start producing. My seedlings were planted in the spring of 2006 and I ate my first fruit in June 2007. In the studies at the University of Saskatchewan, they were yielding 1 kg (2.2 lbs.) per plant in their 3rd year and 4 kg per plant in their 6th year.

Haskap is unlike any other fruit you’ve tried. Some have compared it’s taste to blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, rhubarb, saskatoons, and black current. The flavor seems to vary with varieties. They are most often compared with blueberries, but without the seeds. The seeds are similar to that of kiwis, so you don’t even notice them. As for it’s uses, basically anything you would do with blueberries, you could also do with haskap – eat them fresh, in baking, as jams & jellies, frozen, or whatever else you may think of.

 

 

FUCK YEAH.

